Cambridge Advanced: AS and A levels

Cambridge Advanced: AS and A levels (Grade 11 & 12)

Cambridge International AS and A Levels have a proven reputation for being an excellent preparation for university, employment and life.

Cambridge International AS & A Level develops learners’ knowledge, understanding and skills in:

Subjects in the AS & A Level Curriculum

Students are required to take 5 subjects

Assessment Options

Cambridge International AS and A Levels use a wide range of assessment processes and techniques to supplement formal written examinations – orals, practicals, projects and coursework of differing types are all used in various subjects where they are the most effective and appropriate means of measuring attainment.

Staged Assessment Route

Students at DCIS take a ‘staged’ assessment route – take the Cambridge International AS Level in one examination series and complete the final Cambridge International A Level at a subsequent series. AS Level marks can be carried forward to a full A Level twice within a 13-month period.

Grading System

Each subject that a learner takes receives a separate grade.

Grades are benchmarked using internationally recognized grades, which have clear guidelines to explain the standards of achievement.

The Cambridge International A Level is reported on a grade scale from A* (highest) to E (minimum required performance). There is no A* grade for Cambridge International AS Levels, which run from grade A to E.

University Recognition

The Association of Indian Universities (AIU), the organization that awards equivalence to foreign degrees in India has granted equivalence to Cambridge International A Levels to pursue Bachelor’s degree programs at Indian Universities. According to AIU, a student must have at least a pass on 5 IGCSE subjects including English Language and a pass in 2 or 3 Cambridge International A Level subjects. This criterion is recognized as the equivalent of Class XII qualification of an Indian Board.
For more information, visit